Cooperative Governance and traditional affairs (Cocta) Minister Zweli Mkhize announced in parliament today that 12 of the 22 municipalities in the North West are in serious financial distress, eight of which received disclaimers in audit outcomes. During his budget vote speech the minister said Cocta has been managing 12 out of the 22 municipalities in the North West since October due to their inability to deliver services.

Mkhize further stated that 11 municipalities, nation wide are currently under “Section 139” administration by their provinces and that only 7% of South Africa’s 257 municipalities are functioning well. Roughly 31% (87) remain dysfunctional or distressed.

Closer to home a whats app message is doing the rounds stating that the City of Matlosana features on a list of municipalities that could be placed under administration. The authenticity of the list could not be verified.


The listed municipalities include:

Moretele Local Municipally
Madibeng Local Municipality
Bojanala District Municipality
Kgetleng Rivier Local Muncipality
Ramotshere Moiloa Local Municipality
Mahikeng Local Municipality
Ratlou Local Municipality
Tswaing Local Muncipality
Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality
Naledi Local Municipality
Mamusa Local Municipality
Lekwa Teemane Local Municipality
Dr RS Mompati District Municipality
Maquassi Hills Local Municipality
City of Matlosana